Licensed in Florida
Office Location: Orlando, FL
Illegal Telemarketing in Florida: Who’s Affected?
- Florida recently passed its own version of the federal Telephone Consumer Protection Act that will offer stronger protections to Florida residents who had their rights violated.
- If you are a Florida resident and received one or more calls that violate the new Florida telemarketing laws, you could be entitled to money damages.
- Fill out the form on this page to see if you qualify.
This new bill became law on July 1, 2021, and it updates the Florida Telemarketing Act and the Florida Do Not Call Act, providing greater protections to consumers.
The new Florida robocall bill allows affected consumers to seek monetary damages, limits the number of times a telemarketer can call a consumer within a 24-hour period, and it reduces the hours during which telemarketers may call consumers.
This new Florida telemarketing law offers much stronger protections for consumers against annoying robocalls and pesky telemarketers.
Consumers who receive calls, text messages, or voicemails that violate the law may be entitled to claim $500 to $1,500 in damages per violation.
Do You Qualify?
If you received one or more calls that violate the new Florida telemarketing rules, you may be entitled to compensation.
Your rights may be violated if you’ve received any of the following:
- Pre-recorded messages
- A marketing phone call, text message, or voicemail without written consent
- Marketing calls, texts, or voicemails sent before 8 a.m. and after 8 p.m.
- More than three calls or messages within a 24-hour period
Fill out the form on this page for more information.
What Does the New Florida Robocall Law Provide?
The Florida TCPA bill provides important updates to the Florida Do Not Call Act. Consumers can seek an injunction and recover at least $500 in monetary damages per violation. The bill also authorizes a court to increase this award to $1,500 in cases involving willful and knowing violations.
The new Florida robocall law will also require telemarketers who use an autodialer or recorded messages to first obtain prior express written consent from the consumer. Florida telemarketing laws define autodialers as “an automated system for the selection or dialing of telephone numbers or the playing of a recorded message.”
This definition is somewhat broader than the federal TCPA definition of autodialer, meaning some telemarketers whose dialing systems are compliant with the federal law may violate the new Florida robocall law.
In addition, the new robocall bill changes the Florida Telemarketing Act to reduce the hours during which telemarketers can call consumers from between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. local time. The FTA previously allowed telemarketers to call until 9 p.m.
Telemarketers are also prohibited from calling a consumer more than three times within 24 hours about the same matter and cannot use spoofing technology to disguise their identity.
Does My Number Need to Be Listed on the Do Not Call Register Florida to Qualify?
You do not need to have your number listed on Florida’s Do Not Call registry in order to potentially qualify for compensation under the new telemarketing law. Telemarketers must abide by the stricter rules or risk paying $500 per violation, or $1,500 per willful violation.
The new restrictions even apply to calls from companies with which consumers have an established business relationship.
Businesses must have consumers’ prior express written consent before using automated technology or prerecorded messages to contact them.
If the company violates the Florida telemarketing rules, they can be penalized. In addition to monetary damages, they may also be prohibited from making telemarketing calls in the state.
Join a Free Florida TCPA Class Action Lawsuit Investigation
If you live in Florida and you received a phone call, text message, or voicemail that violates the Florida Telemarketing Act or the Florida Do Not Call Act, you may qualify for a free lawsuit claim review.
Fill out the form on this page to take action.